Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think that laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is a growing debate about whether governments should introduce measures to force people to recycle. Some claim that it is a necessity, while others disagree. From my perspective, I believe that there are much more effective ways to pursue individuals to follow greener lifestyles. To begin with, it is undeniable that not all people recycle their waste. Some claim that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to implement laws and make it a citizen legal requirement. Personally, I cannot imagine that such measures could significantly improve the situation. Certainly, individuals will comply, but not on a greater scale. I firmly believe that there are other measures that if taken could have much more effective results. In order for people to recycle more of their waste, they must be educated. They must be updated about the significance of recycling and the environmental dangers our world is facing. Government should focus on educating citizens to follow greener lifestyles and not forcing them to follow laws. Media could cooperate with authorities and provide help in turning individual's not environmentally healthy habits. Recycling should be a regularity and not something that is done out of legal requirement. All in all, I am optimistic that it is not necessary for governments to propose laws to make individuals recycle. They should focus on educating people to follow greener lifestyles and the media could help with that by promoting both how important nowadays it is to recycle and what are the environmental dangers our world currently is encountering.