In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this?

History always holds enormous curiosity for people being keen to unveil its mystery in the present day. Most of them have no clue on where to embark. Rather than waiting for an apple to fall accidentally from the tree of inspiration, they found that some historical buildings may be an anchor for their exploration of mystery. The enthusiasm and interests in this pursuit are certainly not driven by satisfying our intrigue that discover tales or scandal anecdotes, but by some pragmatic reasons. Old constructions witness a city's aesthetic and cultural history, helping to give people a sense of place and connection to the past. Let us take the Potala Palace—the highest palace in the world as an example. The Potala Place, namely the Winter Palace, is surmounted at Red Mountain top in Lhasa Valley (Tibet, China) at an altitude of 3,700 meters since the 7th century, enclosed within massive White and Red Palaces. The Polata Palace is painted in red and white; a fresh coat made of honey, milk, and sugar is applied every autumn. As a religious Tibetan Buddhist, visiting the Polata Place every few years is my sporadic pilgrimage to the sacred site, which also is the starting point of my lifetime religious journey. As increasingly more background narratives I accumulated over the years, a bond has been firmly established between Buddhism and a spiritual believer-me. When it comes to real estate, delving into the past of a house before purchase is what a savvy customer would follow. Suppose an owner possesses the facts of his listed property thoroughly, like construction date, building materials, decoration style, house structure, and the information of the former owner, which can help him know whether he can nor cannot altar parts of the building. At the very least, it could prevent him from causing irreparable damage to original features, which he would be keen to retain if he knew their worth. Alternatively, he wants to put it on sale; in that case, the property's stories can be capitalized as marketing pitching to enhance its price, especially any historical figures once involved. There is a load of sources available out there to facilitate our searching. Online and offline. The Internet engine can access a wild collection of information without an immense amount of time spending on digging through thousands of papers in the library. Besides, a community survey can be employed as an offline alternative to make up those unlisted on the webs by talking to the local people with frist hand experiences. To sum up, the knowledge of architectural history gives an understanding of the ideas essential to shape the past societies. A building can reveal much about the culture that produced it. Ignoring the past would trigger a failure to nurture our pride and cultural identity as an ethic and a nation.