Extreme sports such as sky diving and skiing are very dangerous and should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

The increasing popularity of so-called extreme sports such as base jumping and rock climbing has led to backlash calling for them to be banned. Although these sports are potentially fatal, they should not be banned as they are also fun and can be undertaken responsibly. The reason that many have demanded limits on extreme sports is their potential for injury and death. Take for example one of the most notorious extreme sports: base jumping. In this sport, participants jump off a given point (a cliff or building, for example) with a parachute. There is very little time before they hit the ground so unforeseen parachute malfunctions are possible and the fatality rate is extremely high. Those that do not die may suffer severe, debilitating injuries such as paralysis and brain damage. Base jumping is something of an outlier on the spectrum of dangerous sports but all these sports involve varying degrees of danger. Despite the aforementioned concerns, I believe the fun people have outweighed potential injury when they are cautious. Base jumping is the most perilous extreme sport but other sports such as skiing, deep-sea diving, and rock climbing are relatively safe. Rock climbing is a good example of a sport that can be very safe and fun if proper precautions are taken. You should sign up for training and go with someone who knows how to safely rig up the harness and tie the requisite knots. Many people who try it end up becoming passionate rock climbers because it is an exhilarating experience. Most extreme sports, taken seriously, present little real danger and are an enjoyable pastime. In conclusion, extreme sports are fun and do not have to be particularly dangerous. People should take the opportunity to responsibly try out at least one extreme sport in their lives in order to see if it is to their liking.