It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn his distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with his opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

Understanding the variation between good and bad should be learnt by the kids at a kinder garden stage itself as this is a crucial thing in their development. Punishing them for wrong deeds is very much required for making them learn the difference is a general perspective in society. I am not inclined towards the current view.The reasons are explained below. To start with, children at a very tender age cannot distinguish between right and wrongdoings.That means if these babies see their peers do a thing, they just try to imitate them without actually worrying about the consequences. For instance, a small kid by seeing a dog, throw a stone at an animal not knowing that it hurts that animal. This is because they have seen their friends doing this to another dog previously. As a result, the child's parents sometimes may thrash him to warn him not to do it again. However, I believe that just punishing them without informing them of the real consequence of hitting a dog is not the correct form of informing them about their wrongdoings.Explaining the harm they have caused to that animal will actually make him feel that he has done a bad thing. Hence, I cannot agree that thrashing and beating them is the correct step of introducing humanity to kids. Perhaps instead of punishing, the best means to teach them what is good and what is bad is through a story with a moral.That means, fables especially having animal characters and other historical themes (to fascinate them more) are the right sources that install a lot of wisdom in them so that they themselves can sort out between right and wrong. Besides this children learn a lot from parents. For example, if parents show them what is the correct way to treat elders and other living beings they do the same. Therefore, it is in the hands of people to mould their future generation into good humans. To conclude,even though some opine that scolding and punishment are very much required to instil good behaviour in kids, I certainly disagree with it for the reasons detailed above.