In recent years some countries have experienced very rapid economic development. This has resulted in much higher standards of living in urban areas but not in the countryside. This situation may bring some problems for the country as a whole. What are these problems? How might they be reduced?

It is widely agreed that in the recent period, some nations have witnessed a rapid acceleration in the growth of the economy. However, this brings about a better living condition for only people who reside in urban spaces, not for people on the outskirts. This trend may represent some threats for the country, but there are measures designed to alleviate the situation. One major negative influence, as a direct result of the trend, is a decrease in the number of individuals of working age in the suburbs. In other words, when they eventually reach adulthood, they might tend to leave their hometown for cities, where a greater living standard is practically more accessible. As in the case of Hanoi, because it offers a plethora of well-paid occupations as well as various recreational activities, many people make a decision to work and live in this city, in lieu of their rural home areas. Therefore,it contributes to the lack of workforce, which may a negative economic effect on not only the outskirts but also the country as a whole. However, there are some plausible solutions that may tackle this concern. Firstly, the government should take the responsibility to allocate more substantial resources into ensuring the countryside people experience a proper improvement in their quality of living such as infrastructure and health access. As a consequence, more people are likely to stay in their hometown to distribute their own working ability to the prosperity of the town. Furthermore, a greater number of large companies and organisations should be strongly encouraged to position factories and offices in the suburbs, which may provide a potential opportunity to increase individual’s income. Thus, this remedy may act as a spur to guarantee enough labor for rural areas. To conclude,even though the aforementioned trend is a major factor responsible for a shortage in workforce on the outskirts,some methods are available to resolve the situation.