Some people think that governments should give financial support to creative artists such as painters and musicians. Others believe that creative artists should be funded by alternative sources. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

A group of individuals present the view that painters, musicians and other innovative artists in general, should be sponsored by the government. however, there is another group that believe other possible financial sources should be considered to support such artists. I strongly agree with the former opinion. On the one hand, some people justifiably argue that government is responsible for protecting cultural heritage by means of supporting the arts. Artworks are tightly bonded to the culture and history of any country, whereas the government is the one who is responsible for keeping the culture alive for the next generations. For instance, when the government grant funds to a painter who is interested in illustrating historical monuments, more paintings will be drawn and as a result more people will have a chance to become familiar with their country’s historical background. On the other hand, another group of people claim that governments must allocate budgets to other vital areas in society. They insist financial support must be dedicated to the other critical fields that are more essential than art such as healthcare infrastructures or educational needs in deprived areas. however, I do not find this argument convincing as by sponsoring talented artists, there is a good chance that the government can also have financial gain eventually. For example, when a skilled musician is supported to have performance, the government can have financial gains from selling tickets as well and if needed, such money can be invested in other essential parts in society. To conclude, in my view, this is the government ’s duty to grant fundings to creative artists as arts play a key role in the protection of cultural heritage and such protection is the government ’s duty. Moreover, the investment in more critical parts of society can be done by the benefits gained as a result of supporting artists.