In some countries, a high proportion of criminal acts are committed by teenagers. Why has this happened? What can be done to deal with this?

In recent years, the proportion of crimes committed by teenagers has increased dramatically and this has caused a widespread discussion. Media violence and unstable family life may be the two main factors leading to adolescents’ criminal tendencies. Both of them will be discussed in detail below, followed by solutions. The lack of family life should take responsibility for juvenile delinquency. Most parents educate their children in an impropriate way like beating and abusing. Even now, many parents still hold a view that a good son is a product of the rod. This educational method will leave children a misleading impression about violence when they are very young, and they are more likely to become real offenders in the future. To solve this problem, parents should adjust parenting at home, interacting with their children more frequently and giving more attention and care especially emotional needs. Excessive exposure to media violence also plays a big role in the increase of youth crime. As we all know, violent shots are prevalent in many films and TV games, which affects young people the most. Teenagers who lack self-discipline tend to imitate their fantasy hero’s criminal behaviour after watching action films in real situations. Actually, these teenagers are misled by their heroes. In this case, the government should set a rating and censorship system in order to control the amount of violence, threat and horror on screen. In conclusion, family life and media violence are the main triggers of juvenile delinquency. Parents should transform their ways to care for and educate their children. Meanwhile, governments should provide a healthy environment on the screen.