Some people believe that university education should focus on the skills of employment for the future. Others think they should focus on academic study only. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In this day and age, in order to compete in the dog-eat-dog world, it is imperative to acquire necessary skills related to the job market. Resultantly, whereas some individuals claim that tertiary education should give more concentration on providing with the required skills of employment, others contend that universities have the only responsibilities to deliver better academic study to students. I, too, wholeheartedly feel that the main purpose of higher studies is to gain deep and broad knowledge in a certain field. Inasmuch as nowadays job candidates are facing difficulties to manage a decent job down to not having the required techniques of employment, it is thought by some that higher education must work on to impart those skills to pupils. To be more precise, if a student does not know the practical skills that usually are applied at every workplace, it is next to impossible to get a suitable job despite having good credentials. To cite an example, 85% of candidates having a high CGPA cannot get a job immediately after their graduation only because of lacking the necessary skills. Therefore, it is paramount to focus on skills of employment. Plausible though it may seem that without job -related skills it is not possible to embark on a career, a university’s topmost task is to provide high-quality education rather than launching vocational programmes. In other words, a student admits into a university with a view to broadening the knowledge acquired at the school and college level, facilitating in applying those insights at the workplace smoothly. As a consequence, if universities start to focus on other aspects rather than on academic studies, there is a high chance of producing low-quality job candidates. On the flip slide, insofar as skills required for employment can be learned from other sources, such as training, voluntary work and suchlike. Hence, universities should only focus on their academic programmes. In conclusion, admittedly, practical skills are decisive for employment but these can be achieved from doing other activities. Thus, I unequivocally buttress the stand of focusing only on the study curriculum.