Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Most of the governments believe that economic progress is the only target and most crucial for a country. Some people consider that other categories of progress should have the equivalent importance as well. There are apparent reasons why economic development is often considered the primary goal of an administration. Firstly, it ensures better living standards for population. Therefore, this offers better job opportunities, education, healthcare and purchasing capabilities. Besides, by creating new job opportunities for citizens the problem of poverty can be ameliorated. Furthermore, they point out that poor education and healthcare systems can be improved by dedicating budgets for these sections. On the other hand, forgetting other types of progress creates variety of complications. People need to have an awareness of the following aspects such as overpopulation, climate change and pollution. For example, Bangladesh is one of the under developing countries having these disadvantages. In particular, we should consider the area of criminal justice, human rights and equality. For instance, South East Asia countries including Pakistan, India and Bangladesh, they confront many sexual abuse and harassment, and chaotic cruelties. Increasing criminal acts decreases a country’s dignity and an overall image. In order to minimize such actions, it’s up to the hands of governments to make some legal punishments. Other aspects of prosperity include garments, transportation system, manufacture of foods and political relationships between nations. In conclusion, economic progress is not a single objective that can be achieved overnight. Equal or even more important aspects are there for actual development. As a result, this would bring sustainable financial achievement.