Nowadays television and the Internet have a greater influence on children's behaviour than their parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the fast technical progress, the media play a more and more important role in people's life. Some argue that televisions and the Internet affect more in terms of children's behavior than their parents, whereas I do not agree despite the plenty of knowledge and skills contained in these techniques. It is true that television and the Internet show them how to behave in many aspects. A child can mimic various actors or cartoon roles to exhibit his or her manner and assimilate skills in these technologies. For example, a boy can learn the methods of speech delivering by watching related videos from the Internet, such as those of the president Obama, an excellent speaker. Considering the reality that parents tend to be stuck in work and are limited by their inability to provide the whole field of guidance, these modern techniques can help children to do better in their life. However, a crucial fact is that parents are the first and fundamental teachers of children to shape them what they are. Basically, it is the parents who bring kids into the world and guide babies to get in touch with the world, to distinguish right and wrong as well as to use tools like the Internet. If two boys of the same age with different family members both at home with a computer, they may act with disparity of behaviours; for instance, one may play games while the other may surf the Internet for learning. The variety of attitudes are determined by the basic cognitive structure co-established with their parents, influencing their behaviours not just on how to apply the Internet but how to perform in the future. In conclusion, parents weigh more in the behavior of children, though the internet and television impart a greater scope of knowledge and skills.