Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the last past thirty years that many cities in the world are now on big traffic jam. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can government take to discourage people from using their cars.

Globalization has improved the overall lifestyle of people in this era. Having a decent standard of living leads to maintaining few fundamental lifestyle essentials. Therefore, owning your own car is one of the key elements of having a comfortable living. However, this leads to increased pollution as well as jam in urban areas. In this essay, we will analyse the situation and share our opinion on the measures government can take to reduce the use of a apersonal a personal vehicle. Over the last few years, owning your own ride has relatively become very convenient, as well as necessary. With easy financial assistance provided by the banks and several options available for all budget range, purchasing a car has become a piece of cake. In most cases, every member of a family owns a car, for example in a family of four - each working parent will have their own car, as well as children, if they are college-going. Also, in many,cases a single individual owns several cars, irrespective of their basic need; in order to maintain social status. Hence, this has lead to a substantial increase in traffic jams in urban areas dramatically. Which eventually resulted in air pollution, noise pollution as well as stress and anxiety in people. However, in my,opinion government can play a vital role in reducing the ownership of car in several ways. Firstly, by introducing more public transport systems at a nominal rate (Bases, Trains, Trams, Taxis). Secondly, by imposing high tax rates on car prices, also it can hike up the petrol/diesel prices. And finally by educating through awareness campaigns about the benefit of using public transports. To summarize the above, in my,opinion although the government can find it a challenging task to incorporate the above changes, however in due time people will start realizing the importance and benefits associated with it and reduce the usage of personal convenience.