Some people think that the best way to reduce the time spent in travelling to work is to replace parks and gardens close to the city center with apartment buildings for commuters, but others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about whether apartment buildings should be allowed to build around the city center instead of having parks and gardens as to reduce travelling time to go to work. While building apartment close to the city center is beneficial, I believe it is more important to have parks and gardens near the city center. On the one hand, having apartments around the center of the town is good for people who work in the city because they can save travelling time. Apart from that, people live near the city may not need to drive or take a bus to the workplace as so can save money in transportation. In addition, it is benefit for the around stores or commercial activities development. Last but not least, live near the workplace can reduce stress. For example: they do not need to wake up too early or rush themselves in order to caught the bus. On the other hand, it is perhaps even more important to have gardens and parks near the city center. Gardens and parks are good place for people to chill out and unwind their mind especially nowadays people under different kind of pressure. Also, parks and gardens can remove a wide variety of city center pollutants from the air because of trees exist. It is no doubt that gardens and parks are places where people are able to make connections, meet new friends and participate in recreational activities in order to promoting community wellness. As for parents, it is crucial for kids to have a place to play outside and it is free. In conclusion, I can understand why people might want to have more apartments near the city, but it seems to me that having gardens and parks are much more desirable in the long-term goal.