Some people say that students who achieve the highest scores in their exams should be rewarded. Others say that those who show progress should be rewarded instead. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion?

Exam is an important phase in every students ’ life where some perform well and others underperform. However, this has raised a discussion between two parts of the society where one thinks that top scorers of the class should be rewarded whereas others believe that those who are trying hard to improve their score should also deserve recognition. Securing the highest rank in the class is not everyone’s cup of tea and those who reach this level should be commendable, as it requires a lot of hard work and dedication to achieve this stage. Apart from this, to become a top performer, students also have to compromise with their other areas of interest like playing sports, watching favourite TV shows, going out with friends which can sometimes cause depression or lead to frustration. So, to keep them away from negative thoughts and maintain their consistent performance, it is critical to recognize their effort by rewarding them in all possible ways. On the other hand, students who strive to secure good marks should also be awarded. This is because, even though they know that they are not performing well still they put their best foot forward to achieve good marks. This requires them to make an extra effort to understand their weakness like taking extra help of tutors, sitting late night to understand a single concept clearly. Thus, it is very important to motivate these students for all of their effort and keep encouraging them for the progress they have achieved. To conclude, every student who is studying very hard should be applauded for the effort irrespective of the exam results. While students who perform well must be awarded, students who try very hard to make progress definitely deserve a credit too.