Advertising discourages people from being different individuals by making us all want to do the same and look the same. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that advertising is an art that can stimulate people with different tastes and needs to buy similar products. I agree that a perfect advertisement can change each person’s mind and could be able to convince the majority of the population for following the trends. On one hand, each person is exposed to a huge number of advertisements every day through social media, messages, billboards and et cetera. So, it makes everyone more doubtful and puzzled in choosing among all these options. They have to gain some information to be able to distinguish between them. Hence, more tactful and knowledge base decisions are made these days. For instance, in spite of numerous advertisements in cosmetics for different Brands, more people know about the essential ingredients of sunscreens which mean a raise in social knowledge in different scopes. On the other hand, effects on people’s taste and behaviour happen through professional ads which modify different personalities to act the same. For example, cigarettes produced by companies but the sales were very low after that they started another type of ad in which superstars in movies started to smoke on special occasions and in hard situations with gorgeous postures. It helped companies to sell a huge number of cigarettes even just a moment after watching those movies. Unfortunately, companies followed the same policy for encouraging women to smoke which was successful too. It means that ads can change morals in society as well. To sum up, in spite of improving information in different fields, I believe that advertisement can affect individuals in their appearance and activities.