Many people believe that social networking sites such as facebook have a huge negative effect on both society and individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Social media have gradually sprawled its popularity all over the world during the last few years. There is a huge uproar that social networks have devastating negative impacts on both individuals and society. I personally agree with this idea. In the forthcoming paragraphs, I shall elaborate on the negative effects of social media on people and society. Firstly, the young generation has become the most vulnerable age group for social media. As they easily lured by some digital applications. For instance, Facebook, WhatsApp, and Instagram basically target the youth. Since they appear to a convenient mode of communication and social interactions, the majority of youngsters tend to get addict to them. Hence young people misuse social networks easily, numerous problems may occur. The academic performances and grades will drastically drop and time for recreational activities will reduce. However, people may end up with a dearth of creativity, poor analytical thinking ability and poor social skills. Illegal sharing o individual’s personnel photos, family disputes due to extramarital relationships and tormenting to frauds are some negative impacts on the individual by social networks. Therefore, intellectual matters, family issues may skyrocket due to social media. Also, persistent exposure to digital screens will cause vision deficiencies, muscular disorders and numerous health issues. Additionally, the majority of society affected by the negative influences of social media. Violent videos, fake news related to gossip increase the number of domestic violence cases. Moreover, social media has become a huge influence in many facets of human life. It even can have negative effects on the political base of the country by ruining the characters of renowned politicians. In conclusion, social media is the most popular trend in the current consumerist society. Although it has nefarious influences on both individual and community, a citizen should be solely responsible to filter them and absorb only good things. There is a need for strict regulations to control them by authorities as well.