In many countries, traditional dress and costumes are considered effective ways of maintaining links with the past. How effective can traditional costumes be, in this sense? What other ways exist to help citizens connect with a country’s past?

History plays a vital role in every country’s identity and culture. To demonstrate this, nations are willing to wear their traditional costume and have strong relationships with their past. Of course, there are numerous ways to show historical bonds among societies. To begin with, Wearing traditional clothes is a way of letting the world know whom nations are without having to say it. in many countries wearing an ethnic dress, especially in festivals or religious ceremonies, is an ancient custom. This will bring unity and cohesion to people and aid them in reminiscing their ancestors. Furthermore, it represents the cultural values and beliefs that pass from descendants to new generations and reflect the rich heritage; The spirit of patriotism and belonging sense to the country’s old ages could have risen. For example, Indian men and women wear ethnic clothes, especially in wedding ceremonies, to respect their origins. On the other hand, wearing traditional outfits solely is not as effective as it should be. There are different ways to maintain the background of one’s country. Firstly, museums with their substantial collection of artefacts can play the role of a mediator to fill the gaps between the generations. By visiting them, folk can visualize and perceive how their ancestors lived or what was their values and notions. They help in promotion and a better understanding of societies' heritage. In addition, studying historical books, telling stories of the past, or playing folk music are powerful tools to link individuals to their roots of culture. For instance, In India schools have plans to take students to visit museums and art galleries every month. In conclusion, customs can be a unique method to associate peoples to the older generation, but we can add other ways like books, music, and museums to approach this aim.