Some parents buy their kids a large number of toys to play with. What are the advantages and disadvantages of a child having a large number of toys?

In this modern era, children possess a variety of toys to play with. Gone are the days when kids used to play with filthy dolls for years. Although this trend offers numerous benefits, such as enhancing productivity and developing skills, its drastic side effects cannot be neglected. Admittedly, playing games is the keystone of the learning process and a variety of toys can bring about numerous advantages. First and foremost, since each toy is intended to focus on a specific skill, different types can help the child to be versatile. For instance, Sudoku is mainly designed to challenge our mathematical abilities, while playing with a ball improves the link between body and brain; therefore, a child has to play with both of them. Furthermore, a large number of toys help a kid to find their true desires and talents. In 2018, some Indian researchers discovered that youngsters often illustrate their natural aptitudes in music, painting and sports, through their childish games. On the other hand, purchasing a large number of toys can have some negative impacts on children’s mental health. A significant problem is that too many items can be distractive, rather than educational. In other words, since there are a lot of options, kids lose interest quickly and choose another one. It was found in a recent study at Harm University that teenagers with diverse facilities have shorter attention spans than their disadvantaged peers, who just have a few simple dolls. In summary, although toys play a significant role in children’s lives, the downsides of possessing a great number of them in their future life and character should be considered. Consequently, parents and children have to buy toys in moderation.