The world today is a safer place than it was a hundred years ago, and governments should stop spending large amounts of money on their armed forces. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Because there were no major wars in the last 70 years or so, people have started debating whether governments should invest a lot of funds in defence or not. Some people argue that globalization and technological advances have made the world a safer place, while others opine that we are more vulnerable than ever before. I am of the latter view and thus disagree with the given statement. Reasons for this will be presented in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, armed forces are highly equipped / advanced today, with immensely accurate computer software and defence systems. These can detect hostile aircraft, missiles and submarines with extreme precision, and target them accordingly. Moreover, intelligence analysts can predict criminal and terrorist events before they occur, and therefore, it becomes easier to prevent them from happening. So, obviously, some of the threats that we faced in the last century no longer exist. On the other hand, safety is a basic necessity, and its significance cannot be overlooked. It is the government’s responsibility to make their country a safe place, so they can never let their guard down. This is why we need continuous research and development in the defence sector, which requires a lot of funding. It is also essential to provide better training to members of the armed forces, as it is unwise to rely solely on computers for security. With increasing incidences of terrorism happening in today’s world more than ever before, it is imperative to invest in our armed forces to counter these occurrences. If more attention had been paid to this matter, it would have been possible to avert / prevent the terrorist attacks of September 2001. In conclusion, I believe that today more than ever before, we need better safety and defence systems. The armed forces play a crucial role in accomplishing this and hence they need to be given the best possible facilities and training. Therefore, it is vital that governments spend enough funds on this sector to make this possible.