Many people want their country to host an international sporting event. Others believe that international sporting events bring more problems than benefits. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

Being an organiser of international sports events like the Olympics is considered as a matter of prestige for a nation whereas some people opined that it is not good. Both of the viewpoints will be discussed in this essay along with my opinion and conclusion. For a nation, hosting an international sports challenge opens the door for many novel opportunities. For example, it gives a boost to the tourism sector as many international sportsmen,media,spectators etc. travel across the border to witness the moment. Apart from that, building an infrastructure to host an event of a bigger scale leads to massive construction work which gives employment to the poor as well as skilled workforce, which in turn leads to the boom in the economy. Also, the up-gradation of the sports facilities and public transportation is a consequential outcome. The status of the host is enhanced in the global arena and it gives exposure to the local budding players by making them witness the competition of the highest scale. On the other hand, a section of individuals thinks that hosting an international sports competition is not good as a huge sum of money is spent on the preparation as well as main events which could otherwise be spent on making the citizens of lower economic strata meet both ends. They feel that the government must prioritise the things and focus on providing the basic amenities rather than spending it on the unnecessary things requiring a handsome expenditure. For instance, a man dying from hunger has nothing to do with the pastime. Also, the influx of so many people can lead to an increase in the incidences of crime. Sometimes, it is seen that traffic is diverted due to these events and holiday is declared to avoid congestion on roads, which increases the hardships of a common man. In my opinion, global events should be hosted by those countries which have been able to provide their citizens with the basic needs of life. Whereas, poor and developing countries should focus on training the sportsmen by providing them with enough facilities such as cash assistance, a good diet and the best coaches. They should also try to eliminate poverty before thinking about organising international competitions involving the outlay of a hefty amount. To conclude, I would say that the hosting of international events directly depends on the fiscal position of a country. If a country has sufficient money, it is good to host a competition and if it is poor, it has a long way to go before thinking about spending a lion's share on these events.