Many people join distance-learning programmes (study material, post, TV, Internet) and study at home, but some people think that it cannot bring the same benefit as attending colleges or universities does. To what extent do you agree with this opinion?

Thanks to advancements in digital technology, distance education has been realized for the majority of people. Some claim this mode of study is by no means comparable to college. Personally, I tend to agree with this idea that online learning, merely a supplement to universities, is not as beneficial as them. It is undeniable that distance-learning programs have revolutionized the way of study. The most distinctive one is that online courses make study more accessible and convenient, as anyone having access to TV or the Internet can watch lectures and tutorials, and download useful materials for the acquisition of knowledge without leaving home, saving a vast amount of time to commute. However, online education cannot be considered as the primary means of education equivalent to a college. The main reason is that university education is not confined to knowledge delivery, which is what distance learning aims at. But instead it provides ethical education, and social and physical activities in order to cultivate well-rounded talented individuals who are not only intelligent but also versatile and healthy with positive attitudes towards society. All these can never be attained by simply taking courses online at home, which only serves as a complementary source of learning. In addition, studying in front of screens can be quite impersonal and can lead to a lack of adequate interactions. If a student has some questions in mind, they are unlikely to obtain immediate feedback from the lecturer, which can result in poor productivity of learning. However, this can be substantially averted by physically attending a class, where instructors are even able to modify their teaching styles to best suit the characteristics of students. In conclusion, online learning can be an innovative and useful approach, due to its limitation and lack of communication, and therefore this home-based learning still cannot match college education.