Do you think it is better for students to work before their university studies? Why? Using reasons and specific examples to support your choice

Nowadays, taking ‘a gap year ’ is the popular choice for undergraduates who recently graduated from high school. A gap year is a time between graduation from high school and starting at the academy; pupil can make their own decision about what they want to do in their future; as well as gain some experience doing something away from study. Working is one of the popular options for students because they can have time to think more about themselves by trying various places, not only the subjects at college, also have more understanding of the value of money and learn how to manage their own finances. Finally the practical experiences that they learn from their workplaces can not come from any theoretical backgrounds. My essay will focus on reasons with detailed explanations about why students should work before starting university. First of all, working before their university studies can help students to have the right direction by trying various jobs. Actually, the knowledge that we learn at college is quite huge and it is certainly different from the university programs; that is the reason why most students feel shocked and are not able to manage their time in their first year of study. For example, many students decide to change their majors because they have no motivation to come to class.,, Actually because they don’t have enough time to think about what they are really interested in for the future instead of trying to get some good marks at college. However, working is an advantage because students have so many opportunities to try various jobs such as becoming baristas, babysitters, nail technicians, etcetera. They have time to understand more about the job and if they feel the jobs are not suited for them, they can try the new one; everything can be available because they are young and they have space to learn. Until finding the jobs they are really interested in, they absolutely will have the motivation to get the certifications of their chosen degrees because they can see themselves after 5 years or more. For instance, the risk of students who take a gap year changing their majors or dropping out of their first year of university is significantly less than the risk of students who do not take a gap year. Secondly, working before their university studies also can help students understand the value of money and learn how to manage their own finances. This is important because at this time young people have to be independent of their families. The money that they earn from full- time or part- time jobs can be charged for their higher education; students can choose to study abroad, which can be quite expensive but at least they can feel more comfortable spending money because that is the money that they earn by themselves, not from their parents or governments. After trying hard to earn their budgets, students can learn how to manage their salary such as renting houses, preparing meals, vehicle maintenance, etcetera; particularly for students who live far away from their families. For example, most international students in university can be good at managing their own money because they know the importance of money that they earn; they also have to face lots of issues when living far from their own families. It incidentally makes them become mature, independent and easily successful in their lives. Moreover, practical experiences from workplaces can not be taught at school. At the workplace, students can be taught by workers, who have plenty of experience from their area of expertise. Students have to become active and work in teams; they can understand more responsibilities of the jobs and their roles in the teams. Therefore their life skills can be improved rapidly in authentic learning conditions. It is much different from school, pupil can only learn by theory from the books and lack practical experience; lessons that they learn can be forgotten after having exams. For instance, most people say learning by ‘muscle memory’ can last longer than learning from books because they completely understand what they are doing and the purpose of doing it; therefore, their brains become more active and the memories can last longer. Undoubtedly, taking a gap year can make us postpone study for one year compared to our college friends; however, working during a gap period brings us a lot of benefits such as making the right direction in our lives and learning lots of life skills. The time that we spend for the gap year is a chance for young people, it is also a big motivation for us to follow our dreams. It is ‘never too late to learn and we should only start to study at university when we are ready. I believe no one in the future cares about how quickly we can pass university, so please give yourself a chance to think about what you are really interested in and have no regrets for the future.