In some countries, parents are choosing to teach children themselves at home instead of sending them to school. Do the advantages of homeschooling outweigh the disadvantages?

Opinions are divided on whether homeschooling is beneficial or harmful. I personally think that this educational route, albeit having some perks, is not suitable for most families due to some of its drawbacks. Admittedly, the benefits of homeschooling have been evident. Firstly, the most commonly cited advantage of this choice is that it allows parents to save money because no school fees are required. Homeschooling advocates also claim that home-educated children are less likely to experience bullying and peer pressure compared to their counterparts at school, both of which can cause emotional and mental problems. Moreover, some people point to that fact that parents teaching their children at home can tailor their curriculum and pedagogical approaches to best suit their young ones. This is not often the case in traditional schooling because of the large class size. More importantly, home-based learning focuses on genuinely mastering concepts rather than memorising facts to pass exams, thereby piquing children ’s curiosity and developing their critical acumen. On the other hand, the problems involved in parents educating their kids at home by themselves are more significant. This is previously mentioned to save up money, however this does not actually relieve any financial burden. Parents self-teaching their children have to spend a large amount of money on lab equipment and tutors and one parent needs to be cut off to cater for their kids’ needs, be these academic or personal. Furthermore, most parents are not well-versed in all school subjects, hence difficulties in properly explaining concepts for children and ultimately academic concerns. Even more vitally, some social problems that children might be faced with at school, such as bullying or having romantic feelings for others, can prepare them for social and workplace situations in the future. In conclusion, homeschooling theoretically confer some certain benefits, as an illustration in form of savings in money, the absence of humiliating at school, educational approaches and a focus on analysing the concepts rather preparing children to take tests. Nevertheless, these beneficial aspects are often exaggerated and can only be brought about by few parents who are extremely intelligent and can afford to stay at home to instruct their little ones. The aforementioned inconvenience of this choice, especially the lack of interaction with other students, is much more worse.