In the past, people stored knowledge in books. Nowadays, people store knowledge on the internet. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In the past, humans passed down information through books. Recently, the internet has been gradually replacing this old function. It is my belief that the positive effects of this matter could certainly offset its disadvantages. There are several drawbacks to storing information digitally. A common disadvantage is that cyber theft occurs frequently. This is because online security is not yet capable of defending against skilled hackers, and even AI systems could easily attack online platforms to collect data. For instance, people who store stories and blogs on Facebook could face potential dangers such as informational theft or plagiarism of their intellectual content. Another negative aspect is that not everyone has sufficient digital literacy to store or manage their books online effectively. As a consequence, their work can be downloaded illegally by various users. However, in spite of these negative effects, online platforms are a great way to store information. One obvious advantage is that everyone who has a smartphone can easily access these platforms to write and edit books digitally. Because of this phenomenon, there are more and more “online authors” who don’t need a publisher anymore and are able to produce and distribute any content they create independently. Another positive effect is that most online books are constantly updated and corrected, thanks to how cost-efficient and accessible digital platforms are. Take Wikipedia as an example; the site is updated and edited daily to reflect the most recent and accurate information. In conclusion, it seems to me that the potential benefits of storing knowledge digitally far outweigh the possible disadvantages.