Littering is a social problem .What are the cause and solutions

In the contemporary day and age, littering is considered to be a global issue being widely spread and discussed. There is no iota of doubt that this phenomenon adversely affects the environment. The following paragraphs will analyse the reasons for littering in public places and propose remedial measures. To commence with the reasons, first and foremost people do not feel personally responsible for the environment. More specifically, some people are not aware of the environmental effects of litter, others believe that can easily get away with this. As a result, individuals get a habit of dropping litter anywhere, instead of throwing it properly. Secondly, lack of public litter bins can cause litter piles along the streets and parks. Apparently, most people do not carry their waste with themselves looking for a litter bin. In terms of solutions, I believe that governments should be largely responsible. A feasible solution would be introducing harsher punishment for people dropping their waste in public places. This would encourage individuals to be responsible for their litter -disposing habits. Additionally, the government should educate its citizens about the effects of littering. For example, secondary schools can provide lessons on the detrimental effects of waste on the environment. Lastly, litter bins should be easily accessible to the public. This would dramatically impact the waste-disposing habits of the population. To conclude, littering is one of the main social issues which should not be neglected. Governments and individuals should put their best foot forward together in order to curb the measure.