In the future, it may be necessary for us to live on another planet. For this reason, some people believe that we should spend money now researching planets that could be a possible home, such as Mars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the coming time, people may require to reside on different planets. Because of this, it is often argued that inhabitable planets should be searched like Mars, by spending funds. But I strongly disagree with this statement because some portion of the society is still deprived of basic needs and this money could be put for a good cause rather than investing it in space projects. First of all, space scientists have done tremendous research to know more about the existence of various planets and some developed countries are still investing huge sums to carry out these research projects. However, this money can be used for the wellbeing of some resource-deprived under-developed nations. Taking Somalia as an example, this country is facing huge water and food crisis. Having said that, it is illogical to carry out such research, when people are not getting enough to eat and drink. Secondly, these space research funds can be used for medical research to treat incurable diseases. Though the medical field has advanced a lot but still for some of the epidemics, vaccines are yet to be discovered, for which huge funding is required. For instance, the epidemics such as Cancer, AIDS require costly equipment and chemicals. Therefore, the countries or the organizations should pay scientific study departments for the betterment of the world. In conclusion, it may seem fascinating to find new planets to migrate to, however, there are many pressing concerns such as poverty and fatal diseases, which needs immediate attention. Therefore, sufficient funding is required to carry out the research and fulfil the requirements of the developing countries, instead of investing in the search for new planets to reside.