2. Many developing countries are currently expanding their tourist industries. Why is this the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

Tourism in recent years has been booming on an unprecedented scale, with many developing countries considering it as a major income source. The main reason for this is the great revenue it generates, and I believe that it is a positive development in some countries that embrace sustainability, but a negative one in some others who are inclined towards mass tourism. The major reason for the rapid growth of tourism is the great profits it might bring. Indeed, tourism has become one of the major players in international commerce, with many statistics indicating that the revenue it brings equals or even surpasses that of many industrial fields such as garment, food production or oil exports. In cases of developing countries where technology in industrial areas is somewhat inferior to developed ones, tourism is deemed instrumental in promoting economic well-being. Any country endowed with natural beauties and historic sites can take advantage of those precious sources to boost their economy. Sustainable tourism, with all economic, social and environmental angles being thoroughly taken into consideration, is a welcome development. It helps generate great profits, it is a good and healthy form of entertainment for tourists, and it also provides jobs for inhabitants living in tourist destinations. Reality Tours and Travel in India is a great example of such a tourism paradigm. Travellers taking the tour are provided with not only personal solace but also valuable, thought-provoking experiences about the locals’ lives, and the profits of the tours eventually go to the development of the impoverished areas in Mumbai and Delhi. However, in some other developing countries where mass tourism prevails, this has become a disaster. Influxes of tourists flocking to one area in peak seasons, littering all over the place, intervening in the locals’ traditional values and damaging the environment have plagued the overall well-being of those countries. The Great Pyramid of Giza in Egypt, for example, has been reported to suffer from irreversible damage as a result of the enormous number of visitors coming there to see the site every year. In conclusion, tourism has enjoyed increasing popularity in developing countries because it is a profitable economic sector. It can be a force for good if developed judiciously and sustainably, yet a catastrophe if it is out of control and tampers with the life and nature of the local areas.