Homelessness is increasing in many major cities around the world. What do you think are the main causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to solve it?

In the contemporary day and age, homelessness is considered to be a sensitive topic being widely spread and vigorously discussed. Apparently, this phenomenon causes adverse effects on many levels. The following paragraphs will analyze the reasons for the increased amount of homeless people in cities and suggest remedial measures. To commence with the reasons for homelessness, first and foremost, the lack of affordable houses. More specifically, people with low or no income cannot afford to buy extremely expensive houses nor can rent them. Eventually, high accommodation prices result in individuals becoming homeless. Secondly, children and adults suffering from home abuse escape from their houses and are pushed to live in the streets. Last but not least, alcohol and drug addicts frequently struggle to function in normal society. Hence, they live their street nomad lives. For example, more than 60% of homeless people are alcohol addicts. In terms of solutions, I believe that the government is largely responsible. A feasible solution to decreasing the number of homeless people would be offering affordable or free houses for people in need. Additionally, the government can provide permanent accommodation for children and adults escaping from domestic abuse. Lastly, people suffering from drug and alcohol addiction should be provided with proper treatment. For instance, many drug addicts would like to return to normal life; thus, special treatment programs would give them this opportunity. To sum up, an increasing amount of homeless individuals is of significant importance for the government. Therefore, the government should put its best foot forward to curb the issue.