In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

Recently, traffic jams are considered as one of the most serious issues in society due to the negative consequences such as environmental damage and congestion. Therefore, some people argue that the tax for cars and their users must be expensive so that the profit can be then used to make public transportation more frequent and of better quality. This remedy has both pros and cons, which are discussed further in this essay. On the other hand, opponents argue that the heavy-manufacturing industry of which the main sector is car production, will diminish due to a more serious financial situation. Even if they manage to earn the same amount of money, a greater proportion of it will be taken away by governments, leading to less overall income. Consequently, fewer corporations can survive in this sector, which might cause a significant drop in the economy as a whole country. This would be more detrimental if the main industry of a nation is this sort such as Japan. However, taxation of purchasing, maintaining and using private vehicles has more important benefits. For instance, this solution can also resolve the shortage of transport services including buses and trains by expanding its budget thanks to governments' profit from tax. In a seriously ageing society like Japan and other developed countries, the population in urban areas has been growing over a few decades in contrast to its decline in rural villages as youngsters tend to prefer to live in cities. As a result, communal service is used less and companies running it often become bankrupt, so it is inconvenient for those who have less access to their daily needs such as supermarkets and hospitals. In fact, approximately 67% of Japanese rural towns are suffering from the scarcity of public transportation. Therefore, solving this problem is crucial and this is only possible with ample funding, which can be obtained from this resolving method. In addition, this remedy can create greater demand for public transport due to less use of cars, which makes maintaining this service much easier. In conclusion, it might negatively impact the economy, but also improve the accessibility of rural areas and lead to more stable finance for communal transportation by increasing its demand.