Private car ownership has been increasing over the past few decades. This has given ordinary people greater mobility, but has also led to concerns about traffic congestion and air pollution. Do the advantages of private car ownership outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent days, it has become increasingly common for people to own private vehicles, namely cars. Although it is true that this can increase mobility for individuals, it seems to me that there are more implications of private car ownership, such as environmental concerns and public congestion, that should be taken into account. Admittedly, possessing private cars can give people a sense of autonomy and freedom to either travel anywhere or explore some places they have never been to as they desire, despite the great distance. Unlike public transport users, car owners will not be restricted by a schedule and do not have to stand in line to finally be able to commute on a daily basis, which can be a hassle for some daily workers who require being punctual at work. However, if we take a broader perspective, private car ownership does bring some problems, especially to society and the environment. If there are more cars on the road, it can possibly lead to an increase in traffic congestion, resulting in longer commute times and higher stress levels among city dwellers. What is more, cars usually produce exhaust fumes or carbon emissions, contributing to air pollution and global warming. In conclusion, despite the advantages of greater mobility and independence that owning a private car can offer, the disadvantages of the societal and environmental disruptions that this phenomenon can cause are more concerning and dangerous, which I think outweigh the benefits.