In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasizes that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays companies are focusing more on how to advertise their same product in different ways. In my opinion, this is been done to attract customers and increase profit without implementing major changes in the product. Personally, I think that it is generally a negative development. This essay will analyze the reasons behind this phenomenon and why it is a negative trend. The major reason why businesses present their product in some unique way is because they are playing with customer psychology and meet their ever-increasing demands. One of the prominent principles of marketing is to meet the customer requirements in order to sell the product in the market. For example, when Apple launched its iPad in the Indian market, which was attractive in looks compared to other iPads, people were curious to check it out. This strategy can attract customer’s attention and the product can be sold by doing some minor changes. Hence, every business follows to present their items as new to grab the interest of their targeted audience. However, this trend generally has a negative side as companies try to mislead buyers. In other words, manufacturers attempt to fool customers by adding few elements in the product such as colour, size, shape, due to which they are deceived. To illustrate more, Cocacola is the best example of this as they change their bottle shapes frequently so that it becomes more appealing to a buyer. Consequently, a customer can gradually lose trust in the brand; as a result, companies can face a huge amount of loss due to this. Seen in this light it can be said that this development can be negative. In conclusion, manufacturers can make commercials of a product in such a way that it looks different so they can catch the attention of their audience. However, this can show the adverse effects as these advertisements could be misleading. It is advisable that people should pay extra attention and do research before buying any product.