Some people believe it is better to study subjects that have practical applications. Others, however, think it is better to study subjects that are theoretical. Discuss both views.

Education is the most important factor that plays an indispensable part in everyone’s life. There are debated views regarding the selection of the subjects. Some believe subjects that have practical implications are more important, while another group strongly defers. In this essay, I will discuss both views and explain why I fall into the first genre. The advocates of theoretical subjects believe in some perceived ideas that those subjects are more beneficial in terms of career path in future. According to them, theory-based studies such as history or geography are often simpler to study and easier to pursue than practical ones. A survey conducted by Mcgill University, for example, showed that undergraduate students studying theory-based studies like Philosophy and Ethics faced less anxiety at the time of mid-term exams and hence could score better than the rest. Apart from this, a better career option is also one factor for choosing subjects that are theoretical. In most western countries like the UK and the US, pursuing a career in these study areas has provided aspirants with lucrative career prospects. In my opinion, however, these are mere perceptions and do not have a strong ground. On the contrary, another group, including me, feels that studying topics that have practical applications are far more enriching and interesting mainly because of two reasons. First of all, these subjects enhance one’s cognitive skill management. Any practical action requires planning in the brain in terms of execution of the same. Therefore, more exposure to studies based on practical activities brush up the mechanism performed in the brain and make it sharper than ever before. Adding to this, these subjects involve quite a number of practical experiments, which also make the study interesting. This certainly helps learners to retain their concentration on the subject matter and not get bored in the monotony of the theory. Clearly, practical subjects are way more beneficial. In conclusion, education is the pillar of success in one’s life, be it practical or theoretical. The decision of choosing a subject to pursue a career in it, however, shall depend on individuals' areas of interest to lessen the chance of dropping out. For this, I personally feel choosing a subject that has practical applications is far more advantageous.