Some people think that zoos are cruel and should be closed down. Others, however, believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the last decade more and more arguing have happened between zoo fans and people who fight for animal rights. While the first group supposes that caving wild species is vital for saving them, the second one claims that zoos only harm animals. The recent studies have shown, that zoo nowadays has become less popular than 20 years ago. It is highly likely that it has happened because of the activities of nature activists. They have been successfully fighting against keeping wild animals in zoos. One of the arguments, that all animals should leave in their habitat looks obvious, nevertheless it becomes more crucial when we deal with species that live in the North Pole or the Antarctic. Moreover, some experts claim that species caved in zoos could not be bred, hence it makes hardly possible to save endangered ones. In addition, there are cases when animals in caves can be killed or poisoned due to inappropriate feeding. Unfortunately, it happens when visitors feed wild animals with food that is harmful to them. On the other hand, many people support zoos. Furthermore, they fund opening new ones. It is widely believed among them that zoos can help to recover animals that were injured in real nature. What is more, they believe that zoo specialists can make advantage of the close relationships with creatures to understand their behaviour better, which means that we can help to protect them in their habitat. Taking all into account, it is evident that there are pros and cons regarding keeping animals in zoos. Despite the fact that animals can be protected in zoos, I personally feel that there is more disadvantages rather than advantages.