Some people say that what children watch influences their behavior. Others believe the amount of time they spend on television influences their behavior most. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Watching television has become one of the most favourite past time activity of children all over the world, and there is no doubt that they are influenced by it in some or the another way.People often argue whether it is the content of a TV show or the time spent watching it, that really has an impact on the child's behaviour.According to me, what children watch on the television influences them more as compared to the amount of time spent watching it. The following paragraphs will discuss both views in detail and will further justify my opinion. Children today have the option to choose what they wish to watch on TV, as a result of the availablity of several different types of shows to select from. It is no doubt that their behaviour gets influenced by their favourite TV programme. Many children dream of becoming like their favourite character, and start doing things in the same way as that character does on TV. However, since they don't know what is good and what is bad, they also adapt the bad traits of that character.which is extremely dangerous for their future. For example, my little brother loves to watch the cartoon Shinchan, and whatever mischief he does on the TV, my brother does it in real life without realizing that it's inappropriate to do so. The content of the TV program makes quite a significant impact on the child's thinking and behaviour. On the other hand, as compared to viewing a TV show for a short period, viewing it continuously for a prolonged period of time affects a child's behaviour more.Watching TV for a long time makes children lazy and distracts them from their studies. For instance, now-a-days children prefer to stay at home and relax on the couch rather than going out and playing with their friends.If children focus on one thing (TV programme) for a huge amount of time, their sense of reality gets clouded and they began to act as if they are a part of that show. This can be easily avoided by limiting the amount of time a child watches TV and encouraging them to do physical activities. To conclude, I believe that more the amount of time for which children see a particular thing, more is its impression on their actions and thinking. TV has become a part of daily life and it does influence our life and personality. But, to prevent the children from getting absorbed into the world of TV, their access to it should be restricted and controlled by the parents.