Companies spend millions each year on advertising online, in magazines and billboards.These adverts can encourage people to buy products that they do not really need? What are the positive and negative effects of consumerism?

The most effective and common method that the companies use in order to persuade people to buy their products is advertisement.Marketing and advertising are the keys to a company's success. However, flashy and extravagant advertisement of goods has led to an increase in consumerism where people buy things that are not needed. This has positive as well as negative effects, which will be explained in the following paragraphs. To begin with, consumerism is not necessarily a bad thing. It has its own advantages. One of them is that it generates job opportunities for several people, especially for those living in developing countries. This is because, as the demand for a particular company's product increases, the company sets up new manufacturing units, in turn leading to the creation of new job positions. For instance, big companies like Apple are establishing their factories in developing countries like India and China. As a result of this, there is a reduction in the problem of unemployment in these nations. On the other hand, just like every coin has two sides, consumerism has its demerits. It has given rise to a major problem associated with waste disposal. As people buy more and more unnecessary stuff, they also throw it away after a short period of time when they no longer want to keep it around. As a result, a lot of waste is generated and with no facility to dispose it off, it remains in the environment causing its degradation. For example, consumerism is highest in the U.S and people here produce the highest amount of waste every year which is harming their environment. To conclude, even though consumerism can help to fight against unemployment by providing jobs to many people, its negative effects on the natural environment cannot be overlooked. I believe that consumerism can be reduced if we decide to buy only necessary things and not get carried away by the advertisements.