Some people believe that art plays a crucial role in society, while others think it is a luxury. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is often argued by a certain group of people, that art in various forms is an attribute of luxury life, while other people believe that art plays a vital role in society. In my opinion, creating art is a natural desire and art is very critical for society to showcase cultural values and heritage. The creation of art can be tracked throughout the development of humanity starting with cave drawing. Early humans created art like paintings pursuing different goals but the aesthetic side and capturing memorable moments of their life were the most prevailed. This means that making art is a natural human need. Almost nobody draws paintings or creates sculptures with intent of earning a significant amount of money for luxury living. For example, many people consider art creation as a hobby. Some people enjoy photography, others like knitting or painting. People find this hobbies stress reducing and pleasant as activities to spend time. Furthermore, all types of human creativity display cultural values, social trends, and historical moments of modern society and ancestors as well. Art is a mirror of how we live and a mirror of the values that we carry. For instance, many details of medieval life can be found in pictures of Peter Brueghel the Younger. Such things help historians better understand the life structure of past societies. Moreover, many pieces of art were created to capture significant historical events. For example, the famous picture The Saint Bartholomew’s Day Massacre by Francois Dubois. To sum up, art is fundamental to what makes us human. Art creation is a natural need as it started to develop tens of thousands of years ago. The process of creating art brings enjoyment and reduces stress. Moreover, it keeps the heritage of our ancestors and displays the cultural values of society.