Some believe that it is good for a country’s culture to import films and TV programmes, while others think it is better for a country to have their own films and TV programmes. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Watching different films and TV programmes becomes our most common daily activity. There are mostly two types of programmes, imported and local programmes. Programmes imported from other countries bring us various information while local programmes are more down to earth. No matter how the quality and quantity of these programs, both of them occupy an important position in our leisure time no matter weekdays or weekends. On one hand, the imported program contributes to the variety of local programs. For example, we can enjoy movies provided by NETFLIX and Apple. These two companies regularly produce different kinds of programs, ranging from scary moves, tragic movies to variety shows, even educational programmes. Thus, the country’s culture will be easily benefited from these types of foreign programmes since it brings along new ideas and new thoughts. On the other hand, it is vital to keep the local programmes production. Having their own programme is somehow an act of conversation. Local people know very much about things that happen in their life such as artists, movie stars and local news. As a result, It is hard to ignore them as it is a kind of collective memory of popularity. In conclusion. It is obviously that imported films cause an impact on a country’s culture hence leading to numerous films production. However, keeping the local programmes also create the collective memory of citizens. In my opinion, I will strike a balance between watching foreign and local programmes.