In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The time gap between the completion of high school and the commencement of university life is spent in different ways by the students. Some are motivated to visit or work in foreign countries while others generally occupy themselves with family enjoying time together, without doing any specific job or travel. There are benefits and drawbacks when we think about both of these aspects. To begin,with the advantages, travelling abroad either for work or a casual visit can help students gaining experience to deal with various nationalities and can enhance their communication skills. People learn and gather knowledge about the traditions, cultures, lifestyles, and job opportunities of different countries by travelling. Some students either work in their respective field of study, in prior, by attending camps or hands-on training sessions offered in some foreign universities and they attain maximum information about the subject. This further helps students for their higher education and provides an easy path for their career development. For instance, many of my colleagues, who attended fundamental training programs in India, before joining the university, could understand the working principles of the studied system and they could build simulation programs or codes themselves. On the other hand, there are few disadvantages too. The time after high school would be generally vacation and if school graduates are motivated to leave their country or family, they might not enjoy the travel in despair, as they have lost their vacation time. For example, some may even enter a depressed mental stage due to the loneliness of travel and homesickness. Moreover, students can utilize the vacation time by engaging in some leisure activities that develop their talent and creativity, if they prefer not to work or travel. Care has to be taken, especially in this pandemic situation, where there are chances to get stranded in a different country due to the lockdowns and cancellation of transport means. There are instances, where some engineering students got stuck in Dubai when they went for an industrial visit to the Dubai Coal industry during the pandemic. To summarize, there are pros and cons regarding the work or travel during the time gap and if the students are curious to utilize their time efficiently, such pupils should be encouraged to go with their plan of travel. However, if students wish to spend some quality time with the family, they should be allowed for it.