If countries are serious about solving traffic problems, they should tax private cars very heavily and use the money to provide free or very cheap rail travel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many countries are facing massive traffic problems, especially in the cities. This both makes travel difficult and causes environmental damage. In order to solve this problem, many people suggest government build easy access and affordable public transportation and give a high tax to private car owners. I agree with this opinion because it makes the public think twice about having private cars and reduces traffic congestion. First and foremost, many people decide to buy a car for reasons of convenience. However, when the number of owners increases, it has impacts on congestion and air pollution. For instance, individuals who commute to work by car because railways are hard to access and always crowded. Therefore, nations should improve their public transportation such as the route, the price, and its capacity. So individuals can use it as an alternative. Moreover, getting a car is very easy nowadays, there is no strict regulation to get this. As a result, almost all households in the cities have one and prefer to drive instead of take the bus or train. A survey shows that nearly 80% of city dwellers have at least one and never use public transportation. That is why, governments should issue strict regulations for car owners, such as increasing vehicle taxes or limiting the number of cars per household. In conclusion, traffic problems can be reduced by advising people to take public transportation. To achieve this, there must be a role for the government in improving public transportation, the money for which can be obtained from high private vehicle taxes.