The dangers of smoking are well known, yet many people continue with this habit. What are the causes of this? How can we reduce smoking in society?

In today's world, although it is well known that smoking has a devastating impact on human's health, people still continue doing so. Firstly, this essay will discuss possible reasons for such a development and, secondly, it will analyse how the problem can be solved. To begin with, first of all, the main reason for people to continue smoking is irrational behaviour, namely one part of it which is named habitual behaviour. This concept in economics means that although smoking does not maximize people's utility since it is harmful to their health they are likely to continue smoking since it is an extremely strong habit. Therefore, smokers do not consider quitting even though they know the possible consequences of their actions. However, on the other hand, this problem can be solved by government intervention. The most powerful tool may be subsidies given to alternatives of cigarettes that do not have such a harmful effect on our organism. Hence, not only will companies which produce these alternatives be able to lower their prices but also this may increase the demand from customers. For example, a reduction in prices for nicotine-free cigarettes in Ukraine has led to a 15% fall in the demand for cigarettes. Eventually, to conclude, the major cause why people continue smoking is the habitual behaviour which is so strong that consumers cannot stop and quit this devastating habit. However, if the government intervene and provide subsidies to firms that produce not harmful alternatives to cigarettes it may increase the demand for a given product and decrease the consumption of cigarettes.