Some people think that the government should spend taxpayers’ funds on cultural activities such as music or art. Others think this is a waste of money. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A highly controversial issue today relates to whether to have investment from the government in the cinematographic industry, music and many other cultural activities or not. In this essay, I am going to examine this question from both points of view and then explain why I believe the arguments for spending money on culture are stronger. There are people who argue that the benefits of investing money in culture considerably outweigh its disadvantages. The main reason for believing this is that society tends to elevate their overall knowledge through some activities such as music and theatre. It is also possible to say that it could be a powerful key to find new talents and mainly to make a social including system to help poor people to overcome their problems. One good illustration of this is from Brazil where a social culture program has been created and its developed many movies with government investment. On the other hand, others believe that there are various ways to spend better their taxes funds. It is often argued that this money should be precisely invested. People often have this opinion because although the cultural’s field has its importance, there are some others sectors with much more urgency to improve immediately such as education and security. A second point is that the number of people who could benefit from cultural activities would be much less than in health or education for example. Another particularly good example here is from Bogota who always put the preference in sectors that include the major part of their population and then in the minority. In conclusion, I believe that both arguments have their merits. On balance, however, I feel that culture should be the priority. This is because of their possible outcomes that could help a lot of people with different problems to feel included in their community and the great opportunity to discover skilled individuals.