Government should spend more money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is argued that governing bodies should allot more funds on railways as compared to spending more on roads. I concur with this statement and this essay agrees with it. Firstly, the state of the railways will improve and secondly, there will be less pollution. Higher fund allocation on railways will enhance the quality of trains and stations which are in a bad state currently. It has been observed that the condition of the passenger car and stations is not up to the mark and can be improved immensely. For instance, the states of the toilets, seats, waiting areas, and booking procedures deserve advancement so that more people opt to travel by rail as it would be more convenient to book tickets. Moreover, the comfortable seats and, spick and span toilets will attract more passengers due to which rail bodies could expect greater returns. Furthermore, there is a steep rise in the pollution levels which is a major reason for global warming and the key reason is a noticeable increase in the number of cars on the road. This is another viable reason to allot more money on railways to create more routes as they carry more commuters as compared to cars and can reduce air contamination significantly. To cite an example, in a four wheeler the maximum capacity of travelers is not more than 5; however, as per a survey in New Delhi back in 2017, an average of 2 folks travel in each car which is way lesser than the number of humans commuting in trains. Traveling by road is expensive not only monetarily but also for the health conditions of mankind and allotment of more capital will result in more human beings opting to travel by railways resulting in low levels of air pollution. To conclude, Government should spend more reserves on railways to develop the condition and to develop more railway routes to massively improve the quality of air and to make it convenient for people to travel by trains.