In some countries, it is becoming increasingly common for people to follow a vegetarian diet. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In some nations, it is getting more and more usual for individuals to stick to vegetarianism. Although, a vegetarian diet can result in a low protein intake, I believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages because of the positive impacts a vegetarian diet has on hunting. Some people fear that a vegetarian diet cannot provide adequate protein to sustain long-term health. It is well that meat is a rich source of protein, which the body needs in order to grow and repair cells, and vegetables often lack essential amino acids, which could result in vegetarians experiencing a weakened immune system or a number of other diseases. For example, the Dalai Lama, who was a vegetarian for his whole life, developed jaundice, and his doctors now require him to eat meat twice a week to obtain the required nutrients to stay healthy. However, I feel that animal products can be substituted by nuts and pulses which are also excellent sources of protein. One of the main advantages of an increase in vegetarianism is that intensive hunting of sea creatures and slaughtering of land animals will slow down because few individuals will consume them. If people switch to being vegetarians, fewer crabs, fish, chickens and goats will be killed to supply the demand of meat-eaters. For example, in recent years fishing at several sea coasts has been banned by the WHO to protect sea creatures due to overfishing. Therefore, to save the ecosystem and cease hunting, it is essential to adopt a vegetarian diet. In conclusion, the benefits of following a vegetarian diet outweigh the drawbacks because it ceases excessive animal killing for food purpose. However, there would be a deficiency of protein in meals as a consequence.