Some people think that the best way to reduce the time spent in travelling to work is to replace parks and gardens close to the city center with apartment buildings for commuters, but others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Traffic congestion always becomes the biggest issue for commuters who travel to work. Some people tend to assert that the best way to deal with this problem is to plant more apartment buildings into the city centre than parks and gardens. However, there are also many people who firmly oppose such an idea. It is quite understandable that views on this issue vary from person to person, but I would prefer the former opinion. Those people who strongly believe that the construction of individual apartments close to the hot spot of the city saves travelling time have cogent reasons for it. Firstly, if the idea could be carried out, commuters would spend less time on transportation. Even professionals can walk a few minutes to get to work. Thus, it is convenient and definitely can boost work efficiency. Secondly, it is possible to achieve the purpose of work -life balance. As the house of workers is near the workplace, they could use their travelling time to do some leisure activities or exercises such as aerobics before going to work. In spite of the above argument, I support the view that the adjacent workplace should not be full of apartments and houses. The main concern is money, it is so common that the prices of city-centred departments are exorbitant. For this reason, most commuters and workers cannot afford it. Many countries like London, Shanghai and Tokyo offer clear evidence for this perspective. Thus, it is unnecessary to plan the apartment rooms close to the workplace. To sum up, we cannot deny that both sides are well-grounded. For my part, I rather agree with the latter view that commuters should consider other ways to reduce the travelling time rather than putting personal apartments near the city center.