Some commentators feel that grandparents should live together with their children and grandchildren, while others say that older people should be encouraged to live independently. Consider the possible arguments on both sides of this debate, and reach your own conclusion.

In today's world, it is believed by some part of the population that elderly people should live with their relatives while others claim that it is better for them to live independently. To begin with, on the one hand, the main reason why grandparents should live with their children and grandchildren is that it provides them with support. This is because of the fact that not only is it easier for older humans to exist when they do not have to do difficult house work but also it reduces risks of them being ill since their family will take care of them. Therefore, this approach is likely to make their life more convenient and comfortable so they may be less stressed and nervous. For example, recent research has shown that, in Ukraine, more than 30% of older part of the society live with their relatives. However, on the other hand, this tendency may be harmful for grandparents' psychological state. This is due to the fact that not only may they feel dependent on their children but also they may seek for independency in order to feel freedom and space. Hence, not all old people might choose life with their family and will prefer to cope with their daily problems on their own. For instance, researchers claim that, in Italy, the number of those living independently has increased significantly. Eventually, to conclude, on the one side, it may be beneficial for grandparents to live with their offspring in order to reduce the number of stressful situations and gain support, but, on the other side, the advantage of an independent life is that they are able to feel freedom. In my opinion, it is better for these human beings to live with their families since it is less risky and more comfortable.