Some people think governments should spend money on faster means of public transport. However, others think money should be spent on other priorities (eg cost, environment). Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are conflicting views regarding whether the government should spend money on public transport or other emergent issues like social welfare costs and environmental protection. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument, followed by my perspective on this matter. People who consider the government should invest in public transport may put forth the following argument. It is undeniable that the time we spend commuting is becoming more and more longer because of traffic congestion, which wastes lots of our time. For instance, we will have less time to dedicate ourselves to working if we spend one or two hours on the bus or underground, impairing productivity. In the long run, economic development will be impeded by the deterioration of the traffic situation. Moreover, it is detrimental to people’s health. For example, lots of people are reluctant to go outside to socialize with their friends because they cannot accept that they have to spend a long time on travel, which will make them lack the opportunity of communicating with others and taking outdoor activities, such as climbing, posing a threat to both their mental and physical health. Nevertheless, those who think governments should invest in other social and environmental problems can also justify their opinions. For one thing, It is common to see that the budget of governments is tight because of the burden caused by the increasing population. For instance, If the government do not invest more money in social aspects, such as healthcare, the public will complain to the government about they cannot receive enough healthy services, which will lead to their resentment, affecting the social stability. For another, some issues like climate change are threatening people’s lives, and solving such environmental problems will cost lots of money, which could only be solved by the government. In conclusion, both traffic and other emergent issues like social cost and environmental problems need to be invested equally because solving these problems could bring complementary benefits.