Some people claim that studying abroad has great benefits for a student’s home country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The trend of studying overseas has been practiced for a long time. Some people believe that studying abroad is beneficial for a student’s homeland, and I completely agree with this statement. However, this essay will include both the merits and demerits of studying in a foreign country. On the one hand, there are a plethora of advantages to studying overseas. The first and foremost benefit is that it provides an opportunity to mingle with pupils from all around the globe, and students learn about the heritage and culture of several different countries. Secondly, while studying abroad students gain some important knowledge which sharpens their intellect; consequently, they can also share this information to the fellow citizens of their country which can help them in development and technological advancement. Thus, it also makes students independent both emotionally and financially. Conversely, students who study in a foreign country face several problems as well. Primarily, language can act as a barrier for these folks. To elaborate, international students may face difficulty in communication and complexity in forming social groups. Furthermore, they may also face racial discrimination which can hamper their emotional stability. Some students also inculcate several bad habits like drinking alcohol and using drugs. Last but not the least, procuring education from overseas is very expensive and everyone cannot afford it. To conclude, in my opinion, the advantages of studying abroad outweigh its disadvantages significantly. In addition, a foreign returned student can provide a handful of new information and knowledge, and can be an asset for his/her native country.