Some people think that students should learn a range of practical skills at school (such as car maintenance or managing money) alongside traditional subjects like maths and physics. Do you agree or disagree with this view?

According to some individuals, students should be taught about diverse practical skills in school alongside traditional subjects like maths and physics. Although the proposed suggestion educates them on essential life skills, developing appropriate conditions is expensive and teaching is time-consuming, leaving less budget and time for traditional courses. Educating pupils about operational skills, such as repair or finance, might help them obtain opportunities during competitive situations by pursuing finance or plumbing as their career. Moreover, this enables them to manage their finances and fix smaller issues within their house and car. Although competency in this is essential, constructing a dedicated environment for their practice is expensive and time-consuming. Thereby, the school would need to distribute their budget to the creation and maintenance of appropriate infrastructure. Additionally, this leaves students with less time to adequately practice for their exams. On the contrary, departing from teaching these skills in school would hinder self-esteem and responsibility, as pupils would lack the confidence and independence to handle real-world situations, depending on others for basic tasks that could have been learned in a familiar educational setting. Hence, full-fledged teaching is not required; an introduction to these real-world skills should be given to ignite their interest in these fields. In conclusion, I firmly agree that operational skills should be learnt in schools; however, over-guidance of them could hinder examination results and opportunities, as schools need to distribute their budget and efforts in the creation and maintenance of required infrastructure. Therefore, a balanced approach is required, and the pupils should be given an introduction to these real-world skills to spark their interest.