In many countries, paying for things using mobile phone apps is becoming increasingly common. Does this development have more advantages or more disadvantages?

A smartphone is no more just a calling device, it has evolved to become a small computer with multiple functions and apps such as paying for stuff from the phone itself. Increasingly, more people are using their phones to pay rather than carrying cash or plastic cards. While in my opinion, the benefits of this situation are more than its drawbacks. On the one hand, this situation has few disadvantages. These include the lower physical interaction that paying by phones can generate. For instance, when we are paying from our phones the communication between the seller and buyer is removed, allowing less possible trade to occur. In addition, to pay using phones we need to save our banking information into the device. Therefore, we are entrusting our private information to a third party, who might be a victim of cyberattack or information breach issues. Furthermore, not all vendors accept phones as payment methods. Hence, if you are not carrying cash, you will not be able to shop in some places. On the other hand, payment solutions via phones provide way more benefits. For example, with the Covid-19 issue, many traders and customers alike are preferring to pay using contactless methods, such as phones. Henceforth, payment by phone can be seen as an important solution for this health crisis. Furthermore, paying with phones allows us to carry fewer items with us while travelling. Meaning, there is no need to carry cash or credit cards anymore and allowing us more space for the important stuff. Adding to that, smartphones can be safer to store and pay when compared to cash. For instance, if you lost your wallet, it is hard to get back the cash in it. While if you lost your phone, you could ask your bank to disable your card information and you can look at your phone remotely. In conclusion, it is safe to say that a phone is more than a phone, it turned into a camera, internet browser and a payment tool. For the mentioned reasons, I believe that paying for products and services from the phone has more advantages than disadvantages.