People in the past would always repair damaged products. However, nowadays, people like to throw out and purchase new products. What are the reasons for this? What problems might this cause?

In ancient times, people usually fixed damaged items. Today, on the contrary, people prefer buying a brand-new product and donate or throw out their old one. There are certain motives that explain this trend, however, it may bring some unfortunate consequences that will be discussed in this essay. To begin with, there are two main reasons why people are preferring acquiring a new product over repairing it. Due to technological advancements, payment methods have evolved enormously, and, today, there are easier options which contribute to impulse people ’s purchase habit, such as credit cards. People buy without even having the money to pay for it. In the past, people did not have this opportunity to buy what they would as they do today. Another reason is that people do not have the time neither patience to repair damaged products. It is a matter of priorities and a lack of the ability to fix things. As people are busy most of their time with professional tasks, they usually prefer replacing the item for another than losing their time. Unfortunately, this change in people ’s behaviour brought out some possible consequences such as more trash and extinct professions. People are renewing their items more frequent and this might generate more waste, therefore, the government needs to invest more money into recycling methods, such as, a manner to properly throw electronics away. Moreover, another problem that it may cause is the absence or soon inexistence of some professionals. In other words, people are not even wasting their time worrying about repairing. Consequently, a person who is able to fix some item might soon need to find another occupation, because people are not too attached to their materials anymore. In conclusion, buying new products instead of repairing damaged ones is a highly debatable topic. This is happening because people have options as payment methods which contribute to their willingness to buy and recently, people lack the patience and ability for fixing their items. As a result, more garbage is generated, and some professionals will soon be extinct.