A government has a responsibility to its citizens to ensure their safety. Therefore, some people think that the government should increase spending on defense but spend less on social benefits. To what extent do you agree?

Ensuring citizens safety is a government's responsibility. Because of this, Some people believe that the government should raise defence spending, and decrease spending on social benefits. This is a recipe for disaster because a reduction in social benefits has a negative effect on the growth of the economy and increases the chances to be involved or start a war. This essay is going to explain in detail the reasons behind this. Firstly, a reduction in social benefits for an increase in defence funds will slow the economy down, which in real terms means fewer jobs, higher unemployment, more families living below the poverty line, less technological advancement to mention a few, while creating the perfect conditions for criminal organisations to get new recruits among the large number of people living in despair. For instance, studies show that 1% more spent on defence is a 9% reduction in economic growth, which will make the population more vulnerable and less secure. Secondly, nations that spend more money in defence are more likely to be involved in an armed conflict, which can cause the deaths of several people, increase the fret of terrorism, therefore citizens safety is compromised. For example, the USA is the country with the highest defence spending in the world, however instead of security is continuously involved in long and devastating wars and has experienced several terrorist attacks. The more money in defence, the less security a nation ends with.  To conclude, it is true that a government is responsible for the safety of its citizens, however, I do not agree with those who say that the government should increase spending on defence and spend less on social benefits because it would have the opposite effect caused by a fall in the country's development and opportunities for the population.